Etias: find out about the new permit that will be required for travel in Europe | Tourism and travel

Anyone planning to visit Europe next year will need to familiarize themselves with the new European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), which will it evaluates the profiles of each tourist and only then allows them to enter the Schengen countries (covering 26 countries).

Enrollment in the system must become mandatory in the middle of 2023. The system has been under discussion since 2016 and will enter into force in 2021, but has been postponed.

Prior to the measure, some nationalities, such as Brazil, were allowed to enter the area for tourism without any visa or travel authorization. THE Etias is not a visabut a kind of online permission, which is required every three years (see more below).

The European Commission’s idea is to improve the security of the Schengen area. During the trial, an examination of the applications to ensure that no one poses a threat to the security of the region.

  • Global input: how to apply for the program that makes US entry faster

Ask your questions about the system below, based on information from the European Commission on Etias:

  • What is Ethias?
  • What is the Schengen Area?
  • Does Etias replace the visa?
  • In what countries can I travel with Ethias?
  • How long can you stay in Europe?
  • When does it take effect?
  • Which countries benefit?
  • How long will the authorization be valid?
  • What do I need to get Etias?
  • Can I refuse Etias?
  • How long will it take to receive the answer?
  • Do I have to pay taxes?
  • Will I have to introduce Etias somewhere?
  • Who is part of the Schengen Area?
  • Check out the 60 countries that can use Etias

The European travel information and authorization system is a digital platform that will determine whether or not a person can enter the Schengen areaby analyzing completed personal information in an online form, such as date of birth, criminal record, and travel information.

By checking the data provided in various databases, Etias will be able to detect if that person poses a threat to any of the countries in the region.

What is the Schengen Area?

A The Schengen area is the junction of 26 European countries that have signed an agreement on the free movement of people from the signatory nations.

Not all countries in the European Union have signed the agreement, as is the case in Ireland. Non-EU states can also join the Schengen area, such as Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican (see all Member States at end of report).

The word Schengen is a tribute to the Schengen city of Luxembourg, where the original agreement was signed in June 1985.

Etias is not a visa, but a authorization for those traveling for tourism or business purposes. He is which is aimed at countries that do not need a visa to enter the Schengen area.

Countries for which an entry visa is required will not have access to Ethias. In the case of Brazil, only those who intend to travel to work or study need to apply for a specific visa for these situations.

  • VIDEO: how to get a passport
  • PET: see what precautions to take on the plane

In what countries can I travel with Ethias?

After entering this area, tourists can move freely between the 26 countries of the agreement, as there are no rigid internal borders.

How long does it take you to stay in Europe?

Etias allows short stays for up to 90 days, in 180-day periodsthat is, it would take at least 90 days after returning to the country of origin to return to Europe.

There is no currently scheduled date. But The idea is that the system will work in May 2023.

Which countries should use Ethias?

For now, 60 countries are coveredincluding Brazil, the measure applies to all those who were already visa-free for European destinations. Check the list at the end of the report.

Other nationalities will continue to need a Schengen visa and will not become eligible for Etias.

How long will the authorization be valid?

After the issuance of Etias, the approval will be valid for three yearsunless the passport expires earlier.

What does it take to get Etias?

It will be necessary fill in the online application form with basic personal information, such as name, address, date of birth and passport details. The website address has not yet been published.

Answers to criminal records, travel to conflict zones and some security issues will also be requested..

It is also important that you have an e-mail address to receive Etias, as well as a passport valid for at least three months from the date of application and a debit or credit card to pay the fee.

How long will it take to receive the answer?

Etias processing promises to be fast: most passengers must receive permission in about 15 days. In some exceptional cases, the period may be extended to 30 or 60 days.

Can I refuse Etias?

Yes, it is possible, but 95% of applications must be approvedemphasizes the European Commission.

Read also – Air miles:

  • What are these and how to get started
  • Find out if it’s worth accumulating

Do I have to pay taxes?

Yes, travelers will have to pay a fee to travel to Europe with Ethias. The cost should be 7 euros (about 37 R $ in last Wednesday’s price, 18). Children under 18 and over 70 do not pay.

This fee is used to cover processing costs, says the European Commission.

Is there? must be paid online by credit or debit card.

Will I have to introduce Etias somewhere?

The visa waiver approved in Ethias will be linked to the passport used in the application and will be verified when the person crosses a Schengen external border.

How to obtain a tourist visa for the USA

How to obtain a tourist visa for the USA

Who is part of the Schengen Area?

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Netherlands
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Czech Republic
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • monaco
  • San Marino
  • Vatican

Check out the 60 countries that can use Etias

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentine
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Savior
  • Georgia
  • Granada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macau
  • Northern Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldavia
  • Montenegro
  • New zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • St. Vincent
  • Samoa
  • bondage
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor has read
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

Leave a Comment